H.R. No. 771

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sharif Long, a junior at Duncanville High School, 2 was elected Youth Governor of Texas at the YMCA Youth and Government 3 High School State Conference, held in Austin January 26-28, 2017; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, The first Youth Governor of Texas elected by more 6 than 70 percent of the vote, Mr. Long has been involved in the YMCA 7 Youth and Government program since it was first established in the 8 Duncanville Independent School District in 2013; he was previously 9 named a Distinguished Delegate, an Outstanding Chair, and an 10 Outstanding Club Leader, and he received the Youth Character Award 11 from the YMCA of Metropolitan Dallas; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Long has also twice attended the YMCA Youth Conference on National Affairs in Black Mountain, North Carolina, where he was honored with the Outstanding Proposal Award, and he has made vital contributions to the Dallas YMCA Youth and Government Leadership Team, a group responsible for training students and advisors within the program; and

WHEREAS, In addition to taking part in Youth and Government, Mr. Long excels academically, and he is currently ranked the top student in his class; he participates in a range of extracurricular activities, including the Duncanville High School student council, which he serves as community service chair and junior class secretary, the school band, the National Honor Society, and the National Spanish Honor Society; he is also an active member of

1

H.R. No. 771 1 Tabernacle-Duncanville Bible Study and of his church's choir and 2 children's ministry; and

WHEREAS, This notable 3 young Texan has demonstrated 4 commendable dedication and perseverance in the pursuit of his 5 goals, and he may reflect with pride on his accomplishments as he 6 looks forward to a future bright with promise; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 7 8 Legislature hereby congratulate Sharif Long on his election as the

9 2017-2018 Youth Governor of Texas at the YMCA Youth and Government 10 High School State Conference and extend to him sincere best wishes 11 for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for Mr. Long as an expression of high regard by the Texas 14 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

2

H.R. No. 771

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 771

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 771 was adopted by the House on March 6, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House