## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The year 2017 marks the 80th anniversary of the
founding of the Brownsville Chamber of Commerce; and

3 WHEREAS, This vital organization traces its roots back to as 4 early as 1906, when a number of local residents began working 5 together to establish a junior college, develop an airport and a 6 deep-water port, and foster stronger economic ties with Mexico; the 7 group constructed its first office building in 1927 and earned its 8 charter as the Brownsville Chamber of Commerce in July 1937; and

9 WHEREAS, Since its inception, the nonprofit has remained 10 committed to its mission of promoting local economic growth through 11 advocacy, leadership, and business-building initiatives, and today 12 it boasts more than 700 business memberships; and

13 WHEREAS, The chamber has additionally benefited the 14 community by founding numerous events, programs, and institutions, including Charro Days, the Sombrero Festival, the Mr. Amigo 15 Association, the Brownsville Convention and Visitors Bureau, 16 Leadership Brownsville, Brownsville Crime Stoppers, and Healthy 17 18 Communities of Brownsville; moreover, its support was instrumental the creation of Texas Southmost College, the Port 19 in of Brownsville, the Brownsville South Padre Island International 20 21 Airport, and the Brownsville Economic Development Council; and

WHEREAS, In 2016, the chamber was selected by the U.S. Small Business Administration to host the Women's Business Center of Cameron County; one of five such organizations in the Lone Star

1

State, the center is dedicated to enabling and empowering female
entrepreneurs through programs and services focused on advocacy,
education, support, and outreach; and

WHEREAS, The Brownsville Chamber of Commerce has demonstrated a long-standing commitment to furthering prosperity in this South Texas community, and its members may indeed reflect with great pride on the contributions the organization has made over the past eight decades; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 10 Legislature hereby commemorate the 80th anniversary of the 11 Brownsville Chamber of Commerce and extend to its members sincere 12 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for the chamber as an expression of high regard by the 15 Texas House of Representatives.

> Oliveira Lucio III

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 772 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House