H.R. No. 774

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, F. J. Scott Elementary School in Roma has been named
- 2 a National Title 1 Distinguished School by the Texas Education
- 3 Agency; and
- WHEREAS, Since 1996, the National Title 1 Distinguished
- 5 Schools program has recognized campuses for documented student
- 6 achievement gains; each state education department selects just two
- 7 schools annually to receive this prestigious accolade; and
- 8 WHEREAS, F. J. Scott Elementary has strengthened its programs
- 9 by encouraging parents and other community members to play an
- 10 integral role in the life of the school; the faculty,
- 11 administration, and staff work diligently to provide a safe,
- 12 positive, and nurturing environment that maximizes opportunities
- 13 for learning; and
- WHEREAS, Under the leadership of principal Diana Salinas, the
- 15 faculty embraces campus-wide accountability and engages in
- 16 vertical team building, which has strengthened the level of
- 17 cooperation across grade levels; weekly Professional Learning
- 18 Community Sessions improve teacher effectiveness by promoting
- 19 self-reflection, fostering a collaborative culture, and
- 20 strengthening the focus on academic results; and
- 21 WHEREAS, F. J. Scott Elementary School was previously
- 22 designated as a 2015 National Blue Ribbon School by the U.S.
- 23 Department of Education; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The education of young Texans is a vital enterprise,

H.R. No. 774

- 1 and the teachers, administrators, and staff of F. J. Scott
- 2 Elementary School have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to
- 3 helping students become self-directed, well-rounded, lifelong
- 4 learners; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate F. J. Scott Elementary School on
- 7 its selection as a National Title 1 Distinguished School by the
- 8 Texas Education Agency; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 11 House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 774

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Flynn	Muñoz, Jr.	Wilson
Gervin-Hawkins Giddings	Nevárez Oliveira	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 774
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 774 v 2017, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on March 7,
	Chief Clerk of the House