H.R. No. 781

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Former NFL placekicker Rolf Benirschke built a
- 2 legacy of achievement in his years as a player, and he has further
- 3 distinguished himself through his courageous efforts to overcome
- 4 serious health issues and to work in behalf of others who face
- 5 similar challenges; and
- 6 WHEREAS, A native of Boston, Mr. Benirschke played football
- 7 at the University of California, Davis, before being selected in
- 8 the 12th round of the 1977 NFL Draft; he made his professional debut
- 9 for the San Diego Chargers later that year, and he went on to spend
- 10 his entire decade-long career with that franchise; during his
- 11 tenure, he tallied an impressive total of 328 extra points and 146
- 12 field goals and earned All-Pro and Pro Bowl honors; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Benirschke's accomplishments are all the more
- 14 impressive given that he was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis in
- 15 his second NFL season; he overcame that life-threatening ailment to
- 16 once again excel on the gridiron, and his comeback was recognized
- 17 with numerous awards; he later battled hepatitis C, having
- 18 contracted the virus from a blood transfusion, and he underwent
- 19 extensive treatment to ultimately be cured of that potentially
- 20 deadly disease; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Motivated by his personal experiences,
- 22 Mr. Benirschke has spent more than three and a half decades
- 23 supporting patients who live with Crohn's disease, ulcerative
- 24 colitis, colorectal and bladder cancer, and other circumstances

H.R. No. 781

- 1 that can lead to ostomy surgery; he has served as a national
- 2 spokesperson for the Crohn's & Colitis Foundation of America, which
- 3 presented him with a Modell Award for Business Leadership, and has
- 4 raised over \$1 million to find a cure for inflammatory bowel
- 5 disease; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Benirschke has also collaborated with the
- 7 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the American Liver
- 8 Foundation, and other organizations that raise awareness of
- 9 hepatitis C; moreover, he created the Rolf Benirschke Legacy
- 10 Foundation and the patient support program Kick Hep C, and he
- 11 cofounded Legacy Health Strategies; an accomplished author as well,
- 12 he has written three books, Alive & Kicking, Great Comebacks from
- 13 Ostomy Surgery, and Embracing Life; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Rolf Benirschke is not only an inspiration to
- 15 football fans nationwide but also to patients and their families
- 16 across the globe, and he is indeed deserving of special recognition
- 17 for his many good works; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby honor Rolf Benirschke on his success as an
- 20 athlete and as a health advocate and philanthropist and extend to
- 21 him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Mr. Benirschke as an expression of high regard by the
- 24 Texas House of Representatives.

Fallon

H.R. No. 781

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 781
	Speaker of the House
_	as adopted by the House on March 8,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House