By: Sheffield H.R. No. 783

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. George N. Smith of West is being recognized as
- 2 the Family Physician of the Year at the American College of
- 3 Osteopathic Family Physicians conference in March 2017; and
- 4 WHEREAS, After graduating from the Kansas City University
- 5 College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1974, Dr. Smith went on to build
- 6 a rewarding career practicing family medicine in West; he has
- 7 served as the emergency medical services director for the town, and
- 8 he helped coordinate relief efforts following the 2013 explosion of
- 9 a local fertilizer plant; despite sustaining injuries himself, he
- 10 assisted in evacuating residents of a nearby nursing home, and he
- 11 ensured that emergency responders were notified of the disaster;
- 12 and
- WHEREAS, For his dedicated work in behalf of his community,
- 14 Dr. Smith was named the 2002 Citizen of the Year by the West Chamber
- 15 of Commerce, and he had the honor of running with the Olympic torch
- 16 in Texas; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Dr. Smith has also shared his knowledge and
- 18 expertise with a number of worthy professional organizations,
- 19 including the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association, the Texas
- 20 Medical Directors Association, the West Hospital Authority, and the
- 21 West Medical Surgical Clinic; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. George Smith has demonstrated an unwavering
- 23 commitment to the health and well-being of his fellow Texans, and it
- 24 is a pleasure to join in honoring him for his notable contributions

H.R. No. 783

- 1 to his field and his community; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. George N. Smith on his
- 4 selection as Family Physician of the Year by the American College of
- 5 Osteopathic Family Physicians and extend to him sincere best wishes
- 6 for continued success; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Dr. Smith as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.