RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Each year, St. Patrick's Day is celebrated on March 2 17, and this occasion provides a welcome opportunity to honor the origins of the event and to highlight the many contributions that 3 individuals of Irish descent have made to the Lone Star State; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Born into a wealthy Romano-British family in the 4th century, St. Patrick was kidnapped at the age of 16 by Irish raiders 6 7 and taken captive to the Emerald Isle; according to his writings, divine intervention allowed him to escape, and he entered the 8 9 priesthood soon after; he later returned to Ireland and spent nearly 30 years teaching the island's residents about his faith, 10 11 thereby becoming the principal champion of Irish Christianity in 12 legend and folklore; St. Patrick's Day, which commemorates the day of his death in 461, has become a celebration of Irish heritage 13 14 around the world, and in recent decades the government of Ireland has made the observance a centerpiece of its efforts to showcase the 15 16 country and its culture; and WHEREAS, One of the earliest Irish residents of Texas was 17 Hugh O'Connor, who served as governor of the Spanish territory from 18 1767 to 1770; natives of Ireland also played a central role in the 19 settlement of Texas in the early 1800s, including empresarios James 20 21 McGloin, John McMullen, and James Power, who brought dozens of Irish families to South Texas and the Gulf Coast; and 22 23 WHEREAS, All three of these men participated in the Texas

Revolution, as did Irishmen such as John Joseph Linn, Francis Moore

24

1 Jr., and Thomas William Ward; a dozen individuals from the Emerald Isle died defending the Alamo, and 100 Irish-born troops helped win 2 3 the independence of Texas in the decisive Battle of San Jacinto; and 4 The number of immigrants from Ireland 5 dramatically in the mid-1800s, and several prominent Irish natives made their mark during that period; Samuel McKinney was an early 6 president of Austin College, Father Michael Sheehan established the 7 8 first Catholic church in Austin and became one of the first full-time Catholic chaplains in the U.S. Army, and Peter Gallagher 9 10 served as a Texas Ranger and helped organize Pecos County; later in the 19th century, Irishman John William Mallet served as the first 11 12 faculty chair at The University of Texas at Austin, and artist Henry Arthur McArdle produced many famous paintings inspired by Texas 13 history, some of which now hang in the State Capitol; and

history, some of which now hang in the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Today, Irish culture is celebrated in formal
programs such as the Center for Irish Studies at the University of
St. Thomas in Houston, as well as in statewide St. Patrick's Day
celebrations, and it is appropriate to join in recognizing the
significant role that Irish Americans have played in the story of
the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby pay tribute to the state's vital Irish heritage
and extend Happy St. Patrick's Day wishes to all Irish Americans.

Murphy Fallon Miller

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Flynn	Muñoz, Jr.	Wilson
Gervin-Hawkins Giddings	Nevárez Oliveira	Zedler Zerwas

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 802 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House