H.R. No. 813

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of Jackson County are gathering in Austin
on March 14, 2017, to celebrate Jackson County Day at the State
Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Part of the Coastal Prairie, what is now Jackson County was once inhabited by the Karankawa people, and it is thought that the early European explorers Cabeza de Vaca and La Salle visited the region; in the 1820s, a number of the "Old 300" families in Stephen F. Austin's first colony arrived, and the communities they founded became known as the Alabama Settlement because so many of the new arrivals had previously resided in that state; and

11 WHEREAS, The area played a central role in the Texas 12 Revolution, serving as a training ground for Texan forces and 13 suffering destruction at the hands of the Mexican Army; after 14 independence was won in 1836, Jackson County was one of the original 15 23 counties formed in the newly established republic; and

16 WHEREAS, Cattle ranching and farming became the backbone of 17 the local economy in the mid-1800s, and these businesses remain 18 important to the county today, with rice, corn, and cotton being 19 prominent crops; moreover, oil and natural gas production have 20 employed many area residents since reserves were discovered in the 21 1930s; and

WHEREAS, The town of Edna was established in the 1880s as a stop on a new railroad that was built through the coastal region; it quickly eclipsed the existing county seat, Texana, and in 1883,

1

Edna became the center of government operations; other communities
in the county include Francitas, Ganado, LaSalle, La Ward, Lolita,
and Vanderbilt; and

WHEREAS, With Lake Texana and Lavaca Bay, Jackson County is a great place for boating, fishing, and hiking, and these activities draw many people to sites such as the Brackenridge Recreation Complex, which includes the Brackenridge and Texana parks and campgrounds, as well as the Main Event Center; hunting and bird-watching are also popular, and visitors can learn about local history at the Texana Museum and Old Jail House in Edna; and

11 WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich and colorful history as they 12 work together to build an even brighter future, the citizens of 13 Jackson County may take justifiable pride in the important role 14 their unique region continues to play in the story of the Lone Star 15 State; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 17 Legislature hereby recognize March 14, 2017, as Jackson County Day 18 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best 19 wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Stephenson

H.R. No. 813

2

H.R. No. 813

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 813

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 813 was adopted by the House on March 14, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House