H.R. No. 829

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The untimely death of beloved coach Johnathan Ray 2 Wagner on December 11, 2016, at the age of 30, has deeply saddened 3 his family, his friends, and the many students whose lives he 4 touched throughout his career in the Angleton Independent School 5 District; and

6 WHEREAS, Born to Ray and Sandy Wagner on June 11, 1986, J. R. 7 Wagner grew up in Angleton and graduated from Angleton High School 8 in 2004; he went on to attend Sam Houston State University, where he 9 earned a degree in kinesiology with a minor in history in 2009; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Wagner subsequently returned to his hometown and took a job at Angleton Junior High as a football coach and physical education teacher; his enthusiasm, his dedication to his students and players, and his Wildcats team pride made him a popular figure on campus, and he naturally fit into the role of mentor and confidant to many; and

16 WHEREAS, While pursuing the career of his dreams, Mr. Wagner 17 was fortunate enough to meet his future wife, Katy, and the couple 18 exchanged wedding vows on July 11, 2015; in addition to enjoying the 19 company of his family and friends, he took pleasure in the outdoors 20 and spent many happy hours fishing; and

21 WHEREAS, Those who were fortunate enough to know J. R. Wagner 22 will never forget the laughter, love, and happiness that he shared 23 with them, and he will forever hold a treasured place in their 24 hearts; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 829

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Johnathan Ray Wagner 3 and extend heartfelt condolences to all those who mourn his 4 passing; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of J. R. 8 Wagner.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 829

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 829 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 23, 2017.

Chief Clerk of the House