RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, In recognition of her military service during World
- 2 War II, Marilyn Dow is being presented with a Women in History award
- 3 by the Corpus Christi Chapter of the National Society Daughters of
- 4 the American Revolution on March 24, 2017; and
- 5 WHEREAS, At the age of 21, Marilyn Dow joined the United
- 6 States Marine Corps as part of the Women Accepted for Volunteer
- 7 Emergency Service program in 1943; she worked as a teletypist in the
- 8 communications office at the Edenton Marine Corps Air Station in
- 9 North Carolina, where her duties included receiving and
- 10 transmitting coded messages; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Americans owe a debt of gratitude to those men and
- 12 women who commit themselves to defending the nation's liberty and
- 13 security, and Marilyn Dow may indeed take great pride in her
- 14 outstanding service to her nation; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby congratulate Marilyn Dow on her receipt of a
- 17 Women in History award from the Corpus Christi Chapter of the
- 18 National Society Daughters of the American Revolution and extend to
- 19 her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for Mrs. Dow as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 22 House of Representatives.

Hunter

H.R. No. 852

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

H.R. No. 852

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 852 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House