H.R. No. 854

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Laymond Wilburn has won great distinction for
- 2 himself and the Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern
- 3 University with his selection as one of the 2017 Law Students of the
- 4 Year by the National Jurist magazine; and
- 5 WHEREAS, This significant honor is being presented to only 25
- 6 students from across the nation in 2017, all of them nominated by
- 7 their law schools for their academic achievement, community
- 8 service, and commitment to justice; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The son of Ray and Kathy Wilburn, Laymond Wilburn is
- 10 a proud Houstonian who attended Strake Jesuit College Preparatory
- 11 before graduating with a bachelor's degree from Xavier University
- 12 of Louisiana; after earning his master's degree, he served as
- 13 deputy sheriff in Jackson County, Mississippi, in the aftermath of
- 14 Hurricane Katrina; and
- WHEREAS, Answering his nation's call to duty, Mr. Wilburn
- 16 enlisted in the U.S. Air Force, where he demonstrated remarkable
- 17 drive and ability as an active duty cyberwarfare officer; over the
- 18 course of five years, he served in South Korea, Bosnia and
- 19 Herzegovina, and the Middle East; in Germany, he commanded the
- 20 largest communications flight in the air force, supervising 300
- 21 airmen in support of Operation Enduring Freedom; he also
- 22 volunteered to preside as officer in charge for more than 75
- 23 funerals in the Gulf Coast region; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Throughout his military career, Mr. Wilburn applied

- H.R. No. 854
- 1 to law school, only to be waitlisted each time; when he was at last
- 2 accepted, he deferred his enrollment to serve with the Green Berets
- 3 and the Navy SEALs in Afghanistan; he then left the air force to
- 4 pursue his dream of becoming an attorney; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Now a third-year student at Thurgood Marshall School
- 6 of Law, Mr. Wilburn was elected "Mr. TMSL" for the 2016-2017
- 7 academic year; his extensive volunteer work includes leading many
- 8 community service projects as well as performing more than 300
- 9 hours of pro bono work with the Houston Young Lawyers Association in
- 10 behalf of area veterans; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Always optimistic and rarely without a smile,
- 12 Mr. Wilburn is currently serving his seventh internship with the
- 13 Texas Legislature in Austin, where he is widely regarded as one of
- 14 the best-dressed men in the Capitol and, indeed, in the entire State
- 15 of Texas; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Poised on the threshold of a brilliant career,
- 17 Laymond Wilburn has proven to be as successful a law student as he
- 18 has been in all his previous endeavors, and he is truly deserving of
- 19 national recognition for his initiative, his capability, and his
- 20 dedication to serving others; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate Laymond Wilburn on being named a
- 23 2017 Law Student of the Year by the National Jurist and extend to
- 24 him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

H.R. No. 854

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Mr. Wilburn as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 854

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

											H.R.	No	•	854
							_	Speaker of the House						
	I	certify	that	H.R.	No.	854	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	Ма	ırch
13,	3, 2017, by a non-record vote.													

Chief Clerk of the House