H.R. No. 867

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Jack and Jill of America are visiting the
- 2 State Capitol on March 14, 2017; and
- WHEREAS, In 1938, Marion Stubbs Thomas and a group of 20
- 4 like-minded Philadelphia mothers established Jack and Jill of
- 5 America in an effort to encourage social and cultural relationships
- 6 among their children; the idea soon spread to other cities, and in
- 7 1946 the group held its first national meeting; and
- 8 WHEREAS, This worthwhile organization has since expanded to
- 9 include more than 230 chapters throughout the country; today, Jack
- 10 and Jill continues to provide constructive educational, cultural,
- 11 civic, recreational, and social activities and programs for youth;
- 12 and
- WHEREAS, The future of the Lone Star State and the strength of
- 14 our communities nationwide depend, in great measure, on the younger
- 15 generations, and Jack and Jill of America is making a positive and
- 16 lasting contribution to the education and quality of life of its
- 17 participants; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby recognize Jack and Jill of America and welcome
- 20 members of the organization to the State Capitol.

Giddings

H.R. No. 867

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Blanco Rinaldi Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	Speaker of the Hou										ouse	.se	
	I	certify	that	H.R.	No.	867	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	March
14,	, 2017, by a non-record vote.												

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 867