H.R. No. 874

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Dallas Youth Commission and the

2 Garland Youth Council are gathering in Austin on March 16, 2017, for

3 Dallas Youth Commission and Garland Youth Council Day at the State

4 Capitol; and

12

13

5 WHEREAS, Committed to the betterment of their communities,

6 the 15 members of the Dallas Youth Commission and 20 members of the

7 Garland Youth Council help city officials better understand the

8 concerns of young residents; their visit to the Capitol provides an

9 opportunity to discuss issues with legislators, as well as to learn

10 about the legislative process, advocacy, and public policy; and

11 WHEREAS, Initially established in 1994, the Dallas Youth

Commission was reinstated in 2015; members are nominated by the

city council, and council member Tiffinni Young, a member of the

14 original commission, serves as council liaison; during their

15 tenure, members help identify programs and services to assist young

16 residents, and they learn how to facilitate meetings, organize

17 community projects, give public presentations, and understand the

18 intricacies of the public budgeting process; and

19 WHEREAS, The Garland Youth Council is a forum for ideas,

20 information, and education, and the members are appointed by the

21 mayor, council members, and the current Youth Council chair; they

22 serve as a voice for their peers and also as ambassadors for the

23 City of Garland while gaining knowledge of municipal operations,

24 advocacy, and the political process; in addition, they assist the

H.R. No. 874

- 1 mayor and council in scheduling meetings to address matters
- 2 affecting area youth; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Through their dedicated work, these dynamic young
- 4 Texans are preparing to become engaged citizens and respected civic
- 5 leaders, and it is a pleasure to join in honoring them for their
- 6 many contributions; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby recognize March 16, 2017, as Dallas Youth
- 9 Commission and Garland Youth Council Day at the State Capitol and
- 10 extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes for a
- 11 memorable and informative visit to Austin.

Koop

H.R. No. 874

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

												H.R.	No		874
								_							
									Speaker of the House						
		I ce	rtify	that	H.R.	No.	874	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	Μa	arch
16,	201	.7, b	y a no	n-rec	ord v	ote.									
								_							
									Chie	f Cl	erk	of the	Нοι	ıse)