H.R. No. 884

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Students, faculty, and staff from Tarleton State
- 2 University are gathering in Austin on March 21, 2017, in
- 3 celebration of Tarleton State University's centennial as the
- 4 founding member of The Texas A&M University System and Tarleton
- 5 State University Day at the State Capitol; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The school was established in 1899 as John Tarleton
- 7 College, a four-year liberal arts college, with an endowment from a
- 8 Stephenville landowner and namesake; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Tarleton's ninth president, James F. Cox, rallied
- 10 community support and encouraged Texas Agricultural and Mechanical
- 11 College president W. B. Bizzell and the Texas Legislature to form a
- 12 union between Tarleton and the strong state institution that would
- 13 become Texas A&M University; and
- 14 WHEREAS, During the 35th Legislature, elected officials and
- 15 leaders from the Texas Agricultural and Mechanical College visited
- 16 Stephenville to tour newly purchased farmland and review the
- 17 college facilities and endowment in consideration of Tarleton's
- 18 proposal to join Texas A&M; and
- 19 WHEREAS, John Tarleton Agricultural College was incorporated
- 20 into The Texas A&M University System in 1917 and served as a
- 21 two-year institution until 1959, when it again extended its
- 22 academic programs to a four-year curriculum; the present-day name
- 23 was adopted in 1973, when the school gained university status; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Much of Tarleton State University's history and

- H.R. No. 884
- 1 traditions have been shaped by its association with Texas A&M
- 2 University, especially in the agricultural, mechanical, and
- 3 military sciences; and
- WHEREAS, In 1999, the Texas Legislature entrusted Tarleton
- 5 State University with the establishment of Tarleton Central Texas,
- 6 which became Texas A&M Central Texas 10 years later; and
- WHEREAS, With campuses in Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, and
- 8 Midlothian, Tarleton's enrollment surpasses 13,000 students
- 9 distributed among 7 colleges and 250 academic programs; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of current president Dr. F.
- 11 Dominic Dottavio, and through the backing of The Texas A&M
- 12 University System Board of Regents and chancellor John Sharp,
- 13 Tarleton will break ground on the first building of a permanent
- 14 center in Fort Worth; and
- WHEREAS, Long known for service to first-generation college
- 16 students, personal attention, warmth, and a faculty and staff focus
- 17 on students, Tarleton is diligent in its efforts to remain one of
- 18 the most efficient and affordable universities in the state and
- 19 across the nation, while maintaining one of the fastest growth
- 20 rates among universities in Texas; and
- 21 WHEREAS, A forward-looking institution with a long history
- 22 and rich traditions, Tarleton State University continues to provide
- 23 its students with an outstanding education and a solid foundation
- 24 for achievement; now, therefore, be it
- 25 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 26 Legislature hereby recognize March 21, 2017, as Tarleton State
- 27 University Day at the State Capitol and congratulate Tarleton State

H.R. No. 884

- 1 University on its Centennial Celebration as a member of The Texas
- 2 A&M University System.

Sheffield

H.R. No. 884

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

										н.к.	. NO	. 884	ł
	-							Speaker of the House					_
	I	certify	that	H.R.	No.	884	was	adopted	by the	e House	on	March	1
21,	2017	, by a no	n-rec	ord v	ote.								
							_						

Chief Clerk of the House