## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Legislature lost an admired alumnus with 2 the passing of former state senator William McKinnie Sims of Paint 3 Rock on August 29, 2016, at the age of 84; and

WHEREAS, Born to Benjamin and Ellen Sims on January 27, 1932, 4 5 Bill Sims grew up in Paint Rock with his two brothers, Dunlap and Ben, and his sister, Kay; he graduated from Texas Tech University 6 7 and served the Texas Agricultural Extension Service as assistant county agent for Howard County and as county agent for Irion County; 8 9 in 1966, he became executive secretary for the Texas Sheep and Goat Raisers' Association, and he continued to hold that office for the 10 11 next three decades; and

12 WHEREAS, Senator Sims was elected in 1982 to represent a vast district that ultimately covered 59 counties in West and Central 13 14 Texas; during his four terms in office, he was involved with legislation addressing many rural and agricultural 15 issues, 16 including bovine tuberculosis, livestock theft, and fire ant, predator, and rabies control; he authored the bills that created 17 18 the Texas Brush Control Program and the Texas Boll Weevil Eradication Foundation, which helped to virtually eliminate the 19 20 destructive pest in Texas; moreover, he sponsored the bill 21 reauthorizing the Texas Animal Health Commission; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his tenure, Senator Sims was a staunch champion for his constituents and an effective advocate for the Paint Rock Independent School District; he retired in 1997, and

1

1 that same year, he received the Texas A&M Distinguished Texan in 2 Agriculture Award; the Wool and Mohair Research Laboratory at the 3 Texas A&M Research and Extension Center in San Angelo was named in 4 his honor in 2010; and

5 WHEREAS, A tough negotiator and a consummate statesman, 6 Senator Sims valued cooperation and listened to all viewpoints 7 before reaching a decision; his good cheer, collegiality, and 8 wonderful sense of humor brought him many lasting friendships; 9 above all, he was devoted to his family, including his wife of 61 10 years, Sue, his children, Billy and Sue Ann, and his grandchildren 11 and great-grandchildren; and

12 WHEREAS, Through his dedicated public service, Bill Sims made 13 a lasting, positive impact on the State of Texas, and those who were 14 privileged to share in the richness of his life will forever 15 remember him with admiration and affection; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 17 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of the Honorable Bill 18 Sims and extend sincere condolences to his family and friends; and, 19 be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 22 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of William 23 McKinnie Sims.

Darby

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 901 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 23, 2017.

Chief Clerk of the House