RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The members of New Mount Pleasant Baptist Church in
- 2 San Antonio are joining together on April 1, 2017, to celebrate the
- 3 one-year pastoral anniversary of Joel C. Allen; and
- WHEREAS, The first New Mount Pleasant Baptist Church pastor
- 5 to be born and raised in that congregation, Pastor Allen assumed the
- 6 pulpit after the death of his father, Pastor J. Carlton Allen, who
- 7 had led the church for nearly five decades; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Over the last year, Pastor Joel Allen has
- 9 demonstrated exceptional compassion and wisdom in his spiritual
- 10 guidance, and he has remained deeply devoted to serving the members
- 11 of New Mount Pleasant; and
- WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, Pastor Allen enjoys the love
- 13 and support of his wife, Jacqueline; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Success in leading a church requires a tremendous
- 15 commitment of time, an ability to inspire congregants through words
- 16 and deeds, and an unwavering belief in the importance of faith, and
- 17 Pastor Joel Allen truly exemplifies the highest standards of his
- 18 vocation; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby honor Joel C. Allen for his outstanding first
- 21 year as pastor of New Mount Pleasant Baptist Church and extend to
- 22 him sincere best wishes for continued success with his important
- 23 work; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for Pastor Allen as an expression of high regard by the
- 2 Texas House of Representatives.

Gervin-Hawkins

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

Speaker of the	House

I certify that H.R. No. 916 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House