H.R. No. 917

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Senfronia Thompson has received the

2 2017 Family Champion Award by the Texas Council on Family

3 Relations; and

WHEREAS, Representative Thompson is the longest-serving woman and the longest-serving African American in the history of the Texas Legislature; since 1973, when she began representing House District 141, she has succeeded in securing the passage of a host of bills benefiting Texas families; she is the author of the state's first alimony law, its current minimum wage law, and the

10 contraceptive parity law; in addition, she helped pass legislation 11 creating the Sexual Assault Program Fund and other reforms designed

11 creating the Sexual Assault Program Fund and other reforms designed 12 to protect women and children against domestic violence; she

13 sponsored the National Domestic Violence Hotline and fought to end

14 gender discrimination in the workplace; and

WHEREAS, Deeply committed to the security of our youngest 15 16 residents, Representative Thompson was instrumental in major reforms in child support enforcement, among them the Uniform 17 Interstate Family Support Act and the Uniform Child Custody and 18 Jurisdiction Enforcement Act; moreover, she simplified probate 19 20 proceedings by authoring the Durable Power of Attorney Act, and she 21 worked to overhaul statutes dealing with statutory county courts and municipal courts; she also helped pass legislation requiring 22 23 free testing for the human papillomavirus, an early indicator of cervical cancer; in the 84th legislative session alone, her many 24

H.R. No. 917

- 1 achievements included the passage of her bill, H.B. 2630, which
- 2 prioritizes evidence-based parent education, and of three bills
- 3 aimed at preventing human trafficking; and
- WHEREAS, Representative Thompson is the recipient of myriad
- 5 accolades; she was selected as an Eleanor Roosevelt Fellow by the
- 6 Center for Public Policy Alternatives, and she has been named one of
- 7 the state's top legislators by numerous media outlets, among them
- 8 Texas Monthly, the Associated Press, and the Nation magazine; in
- 9 2011, she was accorded the Legislator of the Year Award by the Texas
- 10 Family Law Foundation; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Through her unyielding dedication to the most
- 12 vulnerable members of society, Representative Thompson has
- 13 improved the lives of countless Texans, and she is most deserving of
- 14 this significant honor; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby congratulate Senfronia Thompson on her receipt
- 17 of the 2017 Family Champion Award from the Texas Council on Family
- 18 Relations and that she be commended for her work in behalf of Texas
- 19 families; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for Representative Thompson as an expression of high
- 22 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Romero, Jr.

H.R. No. 917

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

		Speaker of the House					
I certify that H.R. No. 917	'was	adopted	by	the	House	on	March
17, by a non-record vote.							

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 917

16, 2017, by a non-record vote.