## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Williamson County are gathering
in Austin to celebrate Williamson County Day at the State Capitol on
March 16, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Williamson County was established in 1848 and named for Robert M. Williamson, a participant in the Battle of San Jacinto and a prominent judge and legislator; and

7 WHEREAS, Among the fastest-growing counties in the nation, with a population of more than 470,000, Williamson County is a 8 center for higher education; it is home to Southwestern University, 9 Texas State University Round Rock Campus, and Austin Community 10 11 College campuses; it also boasts the Texas A&M Health Science 12 Center and the Texas Life-Sciences Collaboration Center, which draws emerging biotech, nanotech, and medical device companies to 13 the region; and 14

WHEREAS, Georgetown, county seat, 15 the has all the 16 conveniences of a modern urban center while preserving its small-town charm; over 180 homes and buildings in the town are 17 listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and residents 18 and visitors alike delight in its picturesque downtown and its many 19 20 opportunities for recreation; Fortune magazine selected it as the 21 number two place in the nation to live and launch a small business, and CNN Money magazine named it among the top 25 Best Places to 22 23 Retire; and

24

WHEREAS, Round Rock is the largest city in the county, with

1

1 approximately 110,000 residents; home to such major employers as 2 Dell, TECO-Westinghouse Motor Company, and Hospira, the city has 3 won numerous accolades, including listing on CNBC.com's Top 10 4 Perfect Suburbs and a CQ Press ranking as the second safest city in 5 Texas; and

6 WHEREAS, Other major Williamson County cities include Cedar 7 Park, which attracts new residents from around the world with its 8 860 acres of parkland and its fine restaurants and shops and has been named by Family Circle magazine as one of the 10 Best Towns for 9 Families; Leander, which offers its residents a relaxed, Hill 10 Country lifestyle as well as easy access to the cultural and 11 12 recreational opportunities of the Austin area; and Taylor, which is a rapidly growing, modern community where visitors and residents 13 14 enjoy such annual events as the Taylor Zest Fest, the Rattlesnake 15 Roundup, and the annual open rodeo; and

16 WHEREAS, Blessed with a thriving economy and an exceptional 17 quality of life, Williamson County is justly celebrated for the 18 can-do spirit and civic engagement of its people, who are working 19 every day to create a bright and exciting future; now, therefore, be 20 it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 22 Legislature hereby recognize March 16, 2017, as Williamson County 23 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation 24 sincere best wishes for the future.

## Wilson

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 926 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House