H.R. No. 964

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Department of Public Safety
- 2 Officers Association are visiting the State Capitol in Austin on
- 3 March 20, 2017; and
- WHEREAS, For more than 40 years, the DPSOA has supported
- 5 troopers, agents, rangers, officers, communications personnel, and
- 6 forensic scientists of the DPS; one of the largest organizations
- 7 representing law enforcement officers in the state, it boasts over
- 8 4,000 members, deeply dedicated men and women who have pledged to
- 9 protect and serve others, no matter the cost; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In 2010, the DPSOA launched the DPS Troopers
- 11 Foundation, which provides DPS personnel with education and
- 12 training, financial assistance in times of need, and scholarships
- 13 for qualifying family members; the foundation also provides
- 14 benefits for the survivors of DPS personnel, and it sponsors
- 15 programs for at-risk youth; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Both the DPSOA and DPS Troopers Foundation are
- 17 funded primarily through voluntary member dues; neither of them
- 18 conducts residential telemarketing; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Created to protect those who protect us all, the
- 20 Department of Public Safety Officers Association has helped to make
- 21 for safer streets, highways, and communities across the Lone Star
- 22 State by improving the general welfare of DPS personnel; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 964

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize March 20, 2017, as Texas Department of
- 2 Public Safety Officers Association Day at the State Capitol and pay
- 3 tribute to the outstanding work done by the DPSOA; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

King of Parker

## H.R. No. 964

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

												H.R.	No		964
								_							. , ,
									Speaker of the House						
	-	I cer	tify	that	H.R.	No.	964	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	Мa	ırch
20,	201	7, by	a no	n-rec	ord v	ote.									
								_							
									Chie	f Cl	lerk	of the	Нοι	ıse	<u>;</u>