H.R. No. 965

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The observance of Texas Retired Teachers Week from 2 March 27 through 31, 2017, provides a welcome opportunity to 3 recognize the members of the Texas Retired Teachers Association for 4 the vital contributions they have made to the state; and

5 WHEREAS, The Texas Retired Teachers Association represents 6 retired public school and higher education employees; and

7 WHEREAS, The members of this notable group continually strive 8 to improve their local communities throughout the state, and they 9 have donated over 6 million hours of their time as volunteers, 10 equivalent to a value of more than \$152 million; to promote literacy 11 and lifelong learning, they have also provided over 800,000 books 12 to children through the Children's Book Project, including 142,461 13 last year alone; and

14 WHEREAS, Conscious of the effect their health has on the 15 world around them, members of the association seek to preserve the 16 TRS-Care benefits program by reducing doctor visits, exercising 17 regularly, and eating healthy foods; and

18 WHEREAS, Retiree annuity payments from the Teacher 19 Retirement System of Texas have exceeded \$8.5 billion and have 20 directly created 112,939 jobs in the Lone Star State; and

21 WHEREAS, The Texas Retired Teachers Association and its 22 nearly 80,000 members are working diligently to protect current and 23 future public education retirees; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1

H.R. No. 965 1 Legislature hereby recognize March 27 through 31, 2017, as Texas 2 Retired Teachers Week; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Flynn

H.R. No. 965

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 965

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 965 was adopted by the House on March 29, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House