H.R. No. 969

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Fernando Castillo of the Donna Independent School 2 District was honored with the 2017 Superintendent's Award by Abydos Learning International at the organization's annual Literacy 3 Learning Teachers' and Trainers' Conference in San Antonio; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Abydos Learning International is staff development program that trains teachers in research-based methods 6 7 for effective reading and writing instruction, and the organization bestows the prestigious Superintendent's Award upon administrators 8 9 who are committed to ensuring success in these critical areas; and WHEREAS, For more than a decade, Fernando Castillo has 10 11 advocated for literacy initiatives across Donna ISD, where he was 12 appointed superintendent in 2016; he brought Abydos Learning International to the district in 2002 while serving as principal of 13 14 Donna High School, and he has gone on to implement a phonics program called Sing, Spell, Read and Write at the 14 campuses in his 15 16 district that teach prekindergarten through second grade students; 17 and WHEREAS, Over the course of his tenure with Donna ISD, 18 Fernando Castillo has exemplified the highest ideals of his 19 20 profession, fostering a positive learning environment for students 21 while working to equip them with a sound academic foundation on which to build, and he is indeed deserving of recognition for his 22 23 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

24

H.R. No. 969

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Fernando Castillo on his receipt of
- 2 the 2017 Superintendent's Award from Abydos Learning International
- 3 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be
- 4 it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Castillo as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Canales

Η	D	$N \cap$	969
$\overline{}$	ĸ	131()	9,5

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 969 was adopted by the House on March 30, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House