RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Abby Fields, a student at Baker Middle School in 2 Corpus Christi, was part of the team that won the middle school 3 category at the regional Science Bowl competition held at The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley on February 4, 2017; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science, the Science Bowl is an academic competition that brings 6 together middle and high school students from around the nation to 7 participate in a fast-paced contest that touches on disciplines 8 ranging from biology and chemistry to physics and math; at the 9 regional level, the members of the winning Baker Middle School team 10 11 beat out 19 other teams from South Texas to earn an all-expenses 12 paid trip to Washington, D.C., where they will take part in the national competition being held from April 27 to May 1, 2017; and 13 14 WHEREAS, A vital component of the team, Abby Fields is a seventh grader at Baker Middle School; in addition to participating 15 16 in the Science Bowl, she explores her creative side through dancing ballet and participating in Art Club, and she enjoys reading and 17 listening to music in her spare time; and 18 WHEREAS, With their fine showing in the regional Science Bowl 19 competition, the members of the winning Baker Middle School team 20 21 have brought credit to their school and their community, and Abby 22 Fields may take justifiable pride in her contributions to the 23 team's outstanding accomplishment; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

24

H.R. No. 1032

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Abby Fields on being part of the
- 2 2017 regional Science Bowl middle school championship team and
- 3 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Abby as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 7 of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1032

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1032 was adopted by the House on March 30, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House