H.R. No. 1052

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The observance of Texas Doctors' Day on March 30, 2 2017, provides a welcome opportunity to honor the physicians of the 3 Lone Star State for their unwavering commitment to the health and 4 well-being of the people of Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, Conceived by Eudora Brown Almond, the wife of Dr. Charles B. Almond, the first Doctors' Day was held in Winder, 6 Georgia, in 1933; the occasion received wider recognition with the 7 passing decades, and in 1990, President George H. W. Bush signed 8 9 legislation designating March 30 of each year as National Doctors' Day; this date was selected to commemorate the anniversary of the 10 11 first use of general anesthesia in surgery by Dr. Crawford W. Long 12 in 1842; and

13 WHEREAS, Texas is home to more than 60,000 physicians, who 14 not only provide for the care of others but also serve in many positions of leadership at all levels of society; the Texas 15 Legislature has long benefited from the dedication of such 16 including current state 17 individuals, representatives Tom Oliverson, J. D. Sheffield, John Zerwas, and Greg Bonnen and state 18 senators Dawn Buckingham, Charles Schwertner, and Donna Campbell; 19 20 and

21 WHEREAS, Doctors play an essential role in the health care of 22 countless Texans, and their contributions to the welfare and 23 prosperity of the state have earned them the respect, admiration, 24 and appreciation of their fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1052
RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize March 30, 2017, as Texas Doctors' Day
and pay special tribute to the physicians currently serving in the
Texas Legislature.

Davis of Harris

H.R. No. 1052

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1052

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1052 was adopted by the House on March 30, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House