H.R. No. 1060

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, William Johnson, a teacher at Richard King High
- 2 School in Corpus Christi, coached the Science Bowl team that won the
- 3 high school category at the regional competition held at The
- 4 University of Texas Rio Grande Valley on February 4, 2017; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy Office of
- 6 Science, the Science Bowl brings together middle and high school
- 7 students to participate in a fast-paced academic contest that
- 8 touches on disciplines ranging from biology and chemistry to
- 9 physics and math; at the regional level, competitors from King High
- 10 School bested 19 other teams from South Texas to earn an
- 11 all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C., where they will take
- 12 part in the national competition being held from April 27 to May 1,
- 13 2017; and
- WHEREAS, In addition to leading the King High School Science
- 15 Bowl team, Mr. Johnson teaches physics and coaches the junior
- 16 varsity girls' basketball team; he is an alumnus of Texas A&M
- 17 University--Corpus Christi, where he earned a bachelor's degree in
- 18 biomedical science; and
- 19 WHEREAS, With their fine showing in the regional Science Bowl
- 20 competition, the members of the winning King High School team have
- 21 brought credit to their school and their community, and William
- 22 Johnson may take justifiable pride in his role as the team's coach;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 1060

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate William Johnson on coaching the
- 2 2017 regional Science Bowl high school championship team and extend
- 3 to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Johnson as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

Η.	.R.	No.	1060

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1060 was adopted by the House on April 6, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House