H.R. No. 1078

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents are joining together to celebrate
- 2 Austin County Day at the State Capitol on April 5, 2017; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Situated between the Post Oak Savannah and the
- 4 Coastal Prairie regions, the Austin County area became part of
- 5 Stephen F. Austin's first colony in the early 1820s; the town of San
- 6 Felipe de Austin was the administrative seat of the colony, and it
- 7 played an important role in the Texas Revolution, hosting the
- 8 conventions of 1832 and 1833 and briefly serving as the capital of
- 9 the provisional government; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Austin County was created by the Constitution of
- 11 1836 and was formally organized a year later; San Felipe was the
- 12 county seat until 1848, when the county government was moved to the
- 13 new community of Bellville; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Blessed with an abundance of water, grassland, and
- 15 forests, the county attracted settlers engaged in agriculture, and
- 16 a number of towns grew substantially during the 19th century,
- 17 including Bellville and Wallis and the railroad towns of Sealy and
- 18 Kenney; German and Czech immigrants also arrived in Austin County,
- 19 and their influence is felt throughout the region in the societies
- 20 that they established and the many communities they founded; the
- 21 cultural mosaic of the county has been further enriched by
- 22 immigrants from Mexico, the largest foreign-born group to settle
- 23 there in the 20th century, and by African Americans, who played a
- 24 fundamental role in the county's development and in the creation of

H.R. No. 1078

- 1 numerous social and religious institutions; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Among the prominent Texans who have resided in
- 3 Austin County was Gail Borden Jr., a surveyor and newspaper
- 4 publisher who later invented a successful process for condensing
- 5 milk; another early citizen, Robert Justus Kleberg, fought in the
- 6 Battle of San Jacinto and held several prestigious public offices;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, Today, visitors and residents alike can explore the
- 9 county's rich heritage, preserved at the San Felipe de Austin State
- 10 Historic Site and in rural communities throughout the area, and
- 11 they enjoy hunting and fishing opportunities as well as a wealth of
- 12 special recreational events; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Honoring their history as they embrace the
- 14 opportunities of the future, the citizens of Austin County may
- 15 indeed take great pride in their unique contributions to the story
- 16 of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby recognize April 5, 2017, as Austin County Day at
- 19 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 20 best wishes for a meaningful and memorable event.

Schubert

## H.R. No. 1078

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer
Craddick Cyrier Dale	Lang Larson	Stickland Stucky Swanson
Darby	Laubenberg Leach	Thierry
Davis of Dallas	Longoria	Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Dean	Lozano Lucio III	Thompson of Harris Tinderholt
Deshotel	Martinez	Turner
Dukes	Metcalf	Uresti
Dutton	Meyer	VanDeaver
Elkins	Miller	Villalba
Faircloth	Minjarez	Vo
Fallon Farrar	Moody Morrison	Walle White
Flynn	Muñoz, Jr.	Wilson
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	F	H.R. No. 1078
	Speaker of t	the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1078 was	adopted by the H	House on April
7, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House

5, 2017, by a non-record vote.