H.R. No. 1079

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Burleson County are gathering in 2 Austin on March 29, 2017, to celebrate the unique role their county has played in the history and culture of the Lone Star State; and 3 WHEREAS, Situated among rolling hills and along the broad 4 5 valley of the Brazos River, the rich farmland of Burleson County drew Anglo-Americans to settle there during the 1820s; the Mexican 6 government placed a fort along the western bank of the Brazos to 7 stem the tide of new inhabitants, but the fort's commander, 8 Lieutenant Colonel Jose Francisco Ruiz, eventually sided with the 9 Texans and became 10 a signer of the Texas Declaration 11 Independence; and 12 WHEREAS, The town of Caldwell was founded in 1840, and six years later the state legislature established Burleson County, 13 14 naming it after Texas revolutionary hero General Edward Burleson and choosing Caldwell as the county seat; during the last half of 15 16 19th century, European immigrants, especially Germans, 17 Austrians, Czechs, and Italians, moved to the area and often set up their own communities; and 18 WHEREAS, Burleson County is part of the Presidential Corridor 19 linking the LBJ Presidential Library in Austin and the George Bush 20 21 Presidential Library and Museum in College Station; only 90 minutes from Houston and less than three hours from San Antonio to the 22 23 southwest and Dallas/Fort Worth to the north, the county's central location serves as a friendly passage for thousands of travelers, 24

H.R. No. 1079

- 1 many of whom stay at the county's motels, bed and breakfast
- 2 establishments, and campgrounds and take advantage of its numerous
- 3 fine attractions; and
- WHEREAS, Visitors and residents alike enjoy the county's
- 5 seasonal festivals, such as the Chilifest and Snook Fest in Snook,
- 6 and the Great Texas LakeFest, which draws thousands of people to
- 7 Welch Park along scenic Lake Somerville; they also may celebrate
- 8 the county's Czech heritage at the Kolache Festival, held every
- 9 September in Caldwell, which was proclaimed the Kolache Capital of
- 10 Texas by the Texas Legislature in 1989; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The county's history is on display at the Kraitchar
- 12 House Museum, the Somerville Area Museum, the Burleson County Czech
- 13 Heritage Museum, the Caldwell Visitors Center Museum, and the
- 14 Burleson County Historical Museum, and throughout the county are 66
- 15 historical markers and 120 historic cemeteries; there are also the
- 16 opportunities for recreation afforded by Davidson Creek Park in
- 17 Caldwell and the city parks in Somerville and Snook; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Honoring the past as they work toward an even
- 19 brighter future, the citizens of Burleson County may take great
- 20 pride in the role their communities continue to play in the story of
- 21 the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize March 29, 2017, as Burleson County Day
- 24 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 25 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Schubert

H.R. No. 1079

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1079
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1079 was	s adopted by the House on March
29, 2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House