H.R. No. 1080

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Family and friends are mourning the loss of Everardo
O. Torres of San Antonio, who passed away on January 25, 2017, at
the age of 63; and

WHEREAS, The son of Everardo Morin Torres and Giomar Torres, Everett Torres was born in Crystal City on April 13, 1953; he came of age during the Vietnam War and served his country in the United States Army; following his discharge, he worked as a carpenter; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Torres lived in a rural area near Fresno, 8 9 California, for many years; deeply committed to his fellow veterans, he often participated in honoring service members at 10 11 funeral ceremonies; he also benefited others through his 12 contributions as a member of the Southwest Indian Relief Council; in his free time, he enjoyed camping in the mountains, taking care 13 14 of his Akita dogs, Hanna and Samurai, and collecting model cars; and

15 WHEREAS, Although Everett Torres is greatly missed, those who 16 were privileged to share in his love and friendship will always 17 remember him with great admiration and affection; now, therefore, 18 be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 20 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Everardo O. Torres and 21 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his 22 daughters, Esmeralda and Amanda Torres; to his sons, Everett Torres 23 III and Michael Torres; to his stepfather, Eugenio "Gene" Perez; to 24 his sister, Nuri Torres Rodriguez; to his brother, Enrique Perez;

1

1 to his half-brothers, Everardo, Karim, and Joel Torres; to his 13 2 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren; and to his many other 3 relatives and friends; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 6 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Everett 7 Torres.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1080

H.R. No. 1080

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1080 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 6, 2017.

Chief Clerk of the House