RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2017 marks the 150th anniversary of the 2 Chisholm Trail, the major cattle-drive route from Texas to Kansas 3 that was used from 1867 to 1884; and

WHEREAS, In the mid-1800s, Texas was home to millions of 4 5 longhorn cattle, many of them roaming freely on sparsely populated rangeland; there was a growing demand for beef in other parts of the 6 7 United States, but Texans lacked an easy means of getting the cattle to market because rail routes between the Lone Star State and the 8 9 eastern United States had yet to be established; early attempts to drive longhorns to Missouri and Kansas were halted when those 10 11 states closed their borders to the cattle to prevent transmission 12 of a deadly livestock disease, though the Texas cattle were later allowed to traverse a less-populated part of Kansas; and 13

14 WHEREAS, In 1867, Illinois entrepreneur Joseph G. McCoy solved the dilemma by persuading the Kansas Pacific Railway to lay a 15 16 spur to the small town of Abilene, Kansas, where he built a hotel, stockyard, office, and bank; he advertised the availability of the 17 railhead throughout Texas, and O. W. Wheeler and his partners drove 18 the first 2,400 steers to Abilene from San Antonio in 1867, 19 20 traveling north through Texas and across the Indian Territory that 21 later became the state of Oklahoma; and

WHEREAS, Some 35,000 cattle were shipped through Abilene in the first year and the total doubled annually until 1871, reaching a peak of 600,000; the popular route from Texas was originally known

1

by such names as the Kansas Trail, the Abilene Trail, or McCoy's Trail; the name Chisholm Trail was initially used only for the section north of the Red River, but it was soon applied to the entire path from the Rio Grande to Abilene and, later, to other towns in Kansas; and

WHEREAS, Typically beginning in the early spring, the cattle 6 7 drives traveled north along the trail, taking three to four months 8 to reach Kansas; the herds moved at a pace of 10 to 12 miles a day, guided by a crew that was often made up of a dozen or more people, 9 10 including a trail boss, cowboys, and a chuck wagon cook; a day on the trail could contain the excitement and danger of stampedes and 11 river crossings as well as many hours of hard and dusty work that 12 13 was a good deal less dramatic; and

14 WHEREAS, The trail ultimately moved more than five million 15 cattle and one million mustangs, playing a crucial role in reviving the Texas economy after the Civil War; the expansion of the 16 railroads, the growing settlement of the 17 Plains, and the establishment of new livestock quarantines brought an end to the 18 19 cattle drives in the mid-1880s, but during its years of operation, the Chisholm Trail gained a special place in Western lore, and it 20 remains a source of fascination today; now, therefore, be it 21

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby commemorate the 150th anniversary of the Chisholm Trail.

Anderson of McLennan

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1087 was adopted by the House on March 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House