H.R. No. 1134

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The San Jacinto County Child Welfare Board is 2 hosting an event in recognition of National Child Abuse Prevention 3 Month on April 7, 2017, in Coldspring; and

WHEREAS, Designated by a presidential proclamation in 1983, National Child Abuse Prevention Month offers an opportunity to highlight the important role that strong, supportive communities play in preventing child abuse and neglect and in fostering the well-being of children and families; and

WHEREAS, Appointed by the San Jacinto County Commissioners 9 Court, the members of the Child Welfare Board are chosen for their 10 11 strong leadership skills as well as their commitment to helping 12 children in need; as part of its mission, the board offers a range of services to youth who are in the care of Texas Child Protective 13 14 Services, furnishing them with such essential goods as clothing, eyeglasses, and personal items and also providing access to camp 15 16 visits and various other activities that are an integral part of 17 growing up; and

WHEREAS, Cooperation and collaboration are essential to preventing child abuse and assisting its victims, and all those taking part in the National Child Abuse Prevention Month event in Coldspring are to be commended for their efforts to focus public attention on this important issue; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby commemorate the National Child Abuse Prevention

1

H.R. No. 1134 1 Month observance hosted by the San Jacinto County Child Welfare 2 Board and extend sincere appreciation to the members of the board 3 for their crucial work; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for the San Jacinto County Child Welfare Board as an 6 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Bailes

H.R. No. 1134

Oliverson

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1134

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1134 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House