By: Herrero H.R. No. 1137

RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The heroic military service of Andy Alaniz was recognized by Alaniz-Valentine Chapter 598 of the Military Order of the Purple Heart at a ceremony aboard the USS Lexington in Corpus Christi on February 28, 2017; and
 WHEREAS, One of our nation's highest military commendations, the Purple Heart is awarded to members of the U.S. armed forces who
- 7 have been wounded or killed in combat; the Military Order of the
- 8 Purple Heart is a veterans organization founded in 1932 that draws
- 9 its membership from individuals who have received the medal; and
- 10 WHEREAS, U.S. Army Specialist Andy Alaniz was killed on 11 February 27, 1991, during the Gulf War, and he was posthumously
- 12 honored with the Purple Heart; in February 1992, Chapter 598 of the
- 13 Military Order of the Purple Heart was founded and named for
- 14 Specialist Alaniz and Private Roger Valentine, who died three days
- 15 later in the same conflict; and
- WHEREAS, At the ceremony in Corpus Christi, Specialist Alaniz
- 17 and Private Valentine were recognized along with 16 living Purple
- 18 Heart recipients; among those paying tribute to the honorees were
- 19 Brigadier General James Mobley, Vietnam veteran J. R. Pena, and the
- 20 color guard of the W. B. Ray High School Naval Junior ROTC; and
- 21 WHEREAS, For his selfless efforts and immeasurable
- 22 sacrifice, Americans owe Andy Alaniz a debt of gratitude that time
- 23 cannot erase, and his memory will long endure in the hearts of all
- 24 those who were privileged to share in his love and friendship; now,

H.R. No. 1137

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor U.S. Army Specialist Andy Alaniz on the
- 4 occasion of his recognition by Alaniz-Valentine Chapter 598 of the
- 5 Military Order of the Purple Heart; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the family of Specialist Alaniz as an expression of
- 8 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.