H.R. No. 1148

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The heroic military service of Johnny R. Fernandez
- 2 was recognized by Alaniz-Valentine Chapter 598 of the Military
- 3 Order of the Purple Heart at a ceremony aboard the USS Lexington in
- 4 Corpus Christi on February 28, 2017; and
- 5 WHEREAS, One of our nation's highest military commendations,
- 6 the Purple Heart is awarded to members of the U.S. armed forces who
- 7 have been wounded or killed in combat; the Military Order of the
- 8 Purple Heart is a veterans organization founded in 1932 that draws
- 9 its membership from individuals who have received the medal; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Purple Heart recipient Johnny R. Fernandez served
- 11 his nation in Vietnam as a member of the U.S. Army, and he was
- 12 wounded in action on June 6, 1970; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Fernandez was one of 16 living Purple Heart
- 14 recipients who were recognized at the ceremony in Corpus Christi,
- 15 along with two others who lost their lives in the line of duty;
- 16 among those paying tribute to the honorees were Brigadier General
- 17 James Mobley, Vietnam veteran J. R. Pena, and the color guard of the
- 18 W. B. Ray High School Naval Junior ROTC; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to Johnny
- 20 R. Fernandez for putting himself in harm's way to defend our
- 21 freedom, and his selfless efforts are a source of inspiration for
- 22 all who know him; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby honor Johnny R. Fernandez on the occasion of his

H.R. No. 1148

- 1 recognition by Alaniz-Valentine Chapter 598 of the Military Order
- 2 of the Purple Heart and commend him for his sacrifice in behalf of
- 3 our nation; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Fernandez as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1148

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1148 was adopted by the House on April 6, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House