H.R. No. 1165

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Concho Valley Council of Governments is 2 celebrating its 50th anniversary on October 7, 2017, and this 3 occasion provides a welcome opportunity to recognize the many 4 accomplishments of this unique regional organization; and

5 WHEREAS, Established in 1967, the council is a voluntary 6 association of local governments that work together in a 7 cooperative spirit to develop joint policies and programs and to 8 resolve problems that are common to the area; and

WHEREAS, The members of the council are committed to a number 9 of worthwhile goals, including improving the health and welfare of 10 11 area residents, promoting economic development, maintaining 12 essential services and facilities, preserving historical and cultural values, and ensuring the effective and judicious use of 13 14 public funds; in working to meet these objectives, the group operates such important regional services as the Concho Valley Area 15 16 Agency on Aging, the regional law enforcement academy, and the Head Start, Small Urban Public Transit, and Homeland Security grant 17 programs; the council also supplies joint coverage to the 2-1-1 18 health and human services information line and the 9-1-1 line; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Over the course of the past half century, the Concho 21 Valley Council of Governments has been admirably transparent and 22 forward thinking, and it has provided invaluable support to its 23 member governments; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1

H.R. No. 1165

Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Concho
Valley Council of Governments and extend to all those associated
with the group sincere best wishes for continued success in their
important work; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the council as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Darby

H.R. No. 1165

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1165 was adopted by the House on April 6, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House