## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Kennedale are gathering in Austin 2 to celebrate Kennedale Day at the State Capitol on March 30, 2017; 3 and WHEREAS, Set among the rolling grasslands of southeast 4 5 Tarrant County, the site of Kennedale was originally inhabited by Native American tribes who hunted and fished along Village Creek; 6 7 the Republic of Texas signed a treaty with the tribes in 1843, and settlers began moving into the area over the following decades; and 8 9 WHEREAS, In 1882, John D. Hudson, C. B. Teague, and Oliver S. Kennedy bought land around a mineral well; a post office was 10 11 opened on the land two years later, and in 1886, a town was laid out 12 and named Kennedale, after Mr. Kennedy; that same year, the Fort Worth and New Orleans Railway Company built a line through the town 13 14 to connect Fort Worth and Waxahachie, along with a passenger depot and several section houses as residences for its employees; during 15 16 that era, the town became known for its brickworks, and Kennedale brick was used in several structures in Fort Worth; and 17 18 WHEREAS, A town that has grown into a city since the regional defense industry buildup of the 1940s, Kennedale today is an 19 20 attractive and comfortable community of approximately 8,000 people who enjoy easy access to the amenities of Fort Worth and Arlington; 21 residents and visitors alike appreciate the opportunities for 22 23 recreation available at Rodgers Farm Park and Sonora Park, and a replica of one of the original railway section houses stands at 24

H.R. No. 1175

- 1 TownCenter Park to provide a colorful reminder of the city's
- 2 history and a backdrop for the annual Brickworks Art in the Park
- 3 festival; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The city continues to thrive under the leadership of
- 5 Mayor Brian Johnson, Mayor Pro-Tem Kelly Turner, and city council
- 6 members Liz Carrington, Frank Fernandez, Charles Overstreet, and
- 7 Mike Walker; also contributing to the community's growth and
- 8 prosperity are the members of the board of the Kennedale Chamber of
- 9 Commerce, including Chair-Elect Becky Carlton, past chairs Tom Hala
- 10 and Monica Collier, treasurer Fred Moore, secretary Bob Hart,
- 11 members James Mulroy, Joe Taylor, Carl Hall, Monty Johnson, Mike
- 12 Johnson, and Mark Biondi, and ambassador ex officio Wayne Simmons;
- 13 and
- 14 WHEREAS, Preserving the city's small-town charm while
- 15 working to build an even brighter future, the citizens of Kennedale
- 16 are justifiably proud of their community, and it is indeed fitting
- 17 to honor them at this time; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby recognize March 30, 2017, as Kennedale Day at
- 20 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 21 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Zedler

## H.R. No. 1175

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1175 was	adopted by the House on March
17, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 1175

30, 2017, by a non-record vote.