RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Muenster High School boys' basketball team
- 2 reached the ultimate level of achievement by winning the University
- 3 Interscholastic League 2A state championship on March 11, 2017, at
- 4 the Alamodome in San Antonio; and
- 5 WHEREAS, During their thrilling postseason run, the Hornets
- 6 dispatched opponents from Bells, Olney, Petrolia, Clarksville, and
- 7 Grapeland High Schools and Dallas Gateway Charter Academy to set up
- 8 a championship battle against Clarendon High School; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Buoyed by its slogan "Finish the Fight," the
- 10 Muenster team entered its third title game in four years as the
- 11 number one seed; the Hornets set the tone early with a 19-8 edge in
- 12 the first quarter and rode a 32-22 advantage into halftime; they
- 13 continued adding to their lead throughout the second half to win by
- 14 a final score of 73-45, never trailing in the contest and earning
- 15 the first state crown in school history; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The Hornets were piloted by senior forward Blake
- 17 Hoepfner, who was named the championship game's Most Valuable
- 18 Player after tallying 21 points and 6 rebounds; fellow Muenster
- 19 standouts Logan Cook, a senior forward, and John Weger, a junior
- 20 guard, also made the All-Tournament Team; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The squad also received valuable contributions
- 22 throughout the season from the other members of the roster: Mathew
- 23 Porter, Cal York, Kane Tamplin, Major Eldridge, Clay Stevens,
- 24 Michael Moseley, Kody Walterscheid, Danny Luttmer, Billy

- 1 Felderhoff, Bryce Herr, and Blayne Jones; these determined athletes
- 2 were ably guided by head coach Lynn Cook and assistant coach Jeff
- 3 Presnall, and they received enthusiastic support from MHS principal
- 4 John York and Muenster Independent School District superintendent
- 5 Steven Self; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the
- 7 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an enduring
- 8 commitment to excellence, and the Muenster Hornets may take
- 9 justifiable pride in this outstanding accomplishment; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Muenster High School boys'
- 13 basketball team on winning the 2017 UIL 2A state championship and
- 14 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 15 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the Hornets as an expression of high regard by the
- 18 Texas House of Representatives.

Springer

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1176 was	s adopted by the House on April
7, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

5, 2017, by a non-record vote.