RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Grand Prairie branch of the NAACP is hosting its 2 30th Annual Freedom Fund Scholarship Banquet on March 30, 2017; and 3 WHEREAS, The NAACP was founded in 1909, with the mission to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of 4 5 rights of all people and to eliminate race-based discrimination; the NAACP advocates for the enactment and enforcement of federal, 6 7 state, and local laws securing civil rights, and over the years, it has played a pivotal role in many groundbreaking legal cases; and 8

9 WHEREAS, The NAACP of Grand Prairie is aligned with its 10 parent organization in seeking to promote justice in the community 11 and throughout the nation at large; the chapter is guided by a 12 skilled leadership team and enjoys the support of numerous 13 volunteers who are truly deserving of commendation; and

WHEREAS, For three decades, the Freedom Fund Scholarship Banquet has provided members an opportunity to call attention to significant issues of concern to the NAACP and to recognize and reward deserving area students; centered on the theme "Stand United," this year's banquet features a keynote address by motivational speaker Silk Littlejohn; and

20 WHEREAS, The men and women of the NAACP have long 21 distinguished themselves as champions for equality in American 22 society, and the Freedom Fund Scholarship Banquet serves to further 23 the vital work of this trailblazing organization; now, therefore, 24 be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 30th Annual NAACP Grand Prairie 3 Freedom Fund Scholarship Banquet and extend to all those in 4 attendance sincere best wishes for a successful and enjoyable 5 event; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the NAACP of Grand Prairie as an expression of high 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Turner Anderson of Dallas Alonzo

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1181 was adopted by the House on March 30, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House