H.R. No. 1182

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Gunter High School football team reached the 2 pinnacle of success by winning the University Interscholastic 3 League 3A Division 2 state championship on December 15, 2016, at 4 AT&T Stadium in Arlington; and

5 WHEREAS, The Gunter Tigers entered the playoffs undefeated 6 through 10 regular season games, and they maintained their momentum 7 with a streak of double-digit victories over Jacksboro, Hooks, 8 Henrietta, Winona, and Canadian High Schools to earn their place in 9 the title contest against Boling High; and

10 WHEREAS, Dominating both sides of the ball, Gunter defeated 11 Boling by a score of 43-7, the largest margin of victory ever 12 recorded in a 3A Division 2 championship game, and these 13 outstanding student athletes capped off a perfect 16-0 season with 14 the first state crown in school history; and

WHEREAS, Colson Stovall rushed for 180 yards and four 15 touchdowns to claim Offensive Player of the Game honors, while 16 Peyton Lowe's team-leading six and a half tackles earned him 17 Defensive Player of the Game accolades; the Tigers also received 18 valuable contributions from the other members of the roster 19 throughout the year, and they greatly benefited from the able 20 21 guidance of head coach Jake Fieszel, who earned his 100th career 22 victory during the season; and

23 WHEREAS, In capturing their school's first state 24 championship, the members of the Gunter football squad demonstrated

1

1 remarkable teamwork, skill, and commitment to excellence, and they
2 are a source of tremendous pride to their many supporters; now,
3 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Gunter High School football team on winning the 2016 UIL 3A Division 2 state championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

Phillips

H.R. No. 1182

H.R. No. 1182

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1182

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1182 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House