H.R. No. 1199

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Department of Transportation 2 celebrating its 100th anniversary on April 4, 2017, and this significant milestone provides a welcome opportunity to recognize 3 the agency's many contributions to the Lone Star State; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Originally known as the Texas Highway Department, this essential organization was established in 1917 by the 35th 6 Texas Legislature; with a staff of just 10 employees, the 7 department carried out one of its earliest construction projects in 8 1918, which involved building a 20-mile road between Falfurrias and 9 Encino; moreover, in its first nine months, the department 10 registered nearly 200,000 automobiles and created the first 11 12 official highway map, showing the routes of more than 8,800 miles of 13 improved roadways that would tie the state together; and 14 WHEREAS, During World War II, highway construction was limited to those routes essential to national defense, but after 15 16 the war ended, the Texas Highway Department began an aggressive rebuilding and expansion effort; in 1945, the agency began to build 17 18 expressways in major Texas cities, and in 1949, it created a program to develop a secondary system of rural, farm-to-market highways; 19 meanwhile, between 1945 and 1950, vehicle registrations jumped from 20 21 1.7 million to 3.1 million; and 22 WHEREAS, In 1975, the organization was renamed the State 23 Department of Highways and Public Transportation, and

responsibilities were broadened to include local and regional

24

H.R. No. 1199

- 1 public transit systems; during the 1990s and 2000s, the agency
- 2 adopted its current name and further expanded its scope to
- 3 encompass aviation, railroads, ports, and waterways; and
- WHEREAS, Today, TxDOT employs some 11,000 men and women who
- 5 work every day to help 27 million motorists travel safely and
- 6 efficiently over more than 80,000 miles of roadway, and the skill
- 7 and dedication of the department's staff play a vital role in the
- 8 continued prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the
- 11 founding of the Texas Department of Transportation and extend to
- 12 all those associated with the agency sincere best wishes for
- 13 continued success in their important work; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for TxDOT as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 16 House of Representatives.

Morrison

## H.R. No. 1199

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

										H.R.	No.	1199
							Speaker of the House					
I	certify	that	H.R.	No.	1199	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	April
7,	by a non	-reco	ord vo	te.								

Chief Clerk of the House

, 2017, by a non-record vote.