RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Ervin D. Seamster Jr. became the seventh

president of Southwestern Christian College on January 16, 2017;

3 and

2

14

4 WHEREAS, An alumnus of Southwestern Christian College,

5 Dr. Seamster earned a master of divinity degree from the Southern

6 Methodist University Perkins School of Theology and a doctor of

7 ministry degree from United Theological Seminary in Ohio; he served

8 for nine years in a number of ministry positions at Marsalis Avenue

9 Church of Christ in Dallas, and in 1999, he founded Light of the

10 World Church of Christ, where he continues to lead the congregation

11 as the senior minister; and

12 WHEREAS, Dr. Seamster joined the faculty of Abilene

13 Christian University in 1999, and during his three years with the

institution, he was invited to be a special consultant to the

15 university president; in that role, he worked to recruit

16 exceptional minority students for the doctoral fellows program, and

17 he also taught courses in Old Testament theology and urban ministry

18 in the 21st century; his other notable accomplishments include

19 cofounding Northwest Preparatory Academy in Houston and serving as

20 president of the real estate consulting firm EDS & Associates; and

21 WHEREAS, In addition to fulfilling his many professional and

22 ministerial duties, Dr. Seamster has given generously of his time

23 and talents to numerous civic endeavors; from 2013 to 2016, he

24 served on the board of the Dallas Central Appraisal District, and he

- 1 is currently a Dallas County precinct chair; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Ervin Seamster Jr. is uniquely qualified to
- 3 build on the rich tradition of excellence at Southwestern Christian
- 4 College, and the institution will surely benefit from having this
- 5 visionary leader at its helm; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Ervin D. Seamster Jr. on his
- 8 appointment as president of Southwestern Christian College and
- 9 extend to him sincere best wishes for a successful tenure; and, be
- 10 it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for Dr. Seamster as an expression of high regard by the
- 13 Texas House of Representatives.

Gooden

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1215 was adopted by the House on April 4, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House