## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Lipan High School boys' basketball team closed 2 out the 2016-2017 season in triumphant fashion by claiming the University Interscholastic League 1A state championship on March 11 3 at the Alamodome in San Antonio; and 4 5 WHEREAS, With a stout defense and an unstoppable offense, the Indians proved themselves tough competitors throughout regular 6 season play and clinched the District 18-1A title; in the playoffs, 7 these talented athletes dispatched the squads from Zephyr, Iredell, 8 9 Yantis, and Graford High Schools with average margins of victory exceeding 37 points per game; this impressive run earned the team 10 11 the regional championship and punched its ticket to the state 12 tournament, where Lipan defeated Dime Box in the semifinals; that set the stage for the title game in which the Indians defeated Happy 13 14 High School 46-43, recording their 36th win of the year, the most in school history; and 15 WHEREAS, The Lipan basketball team also made an impressive 16 showing at tournaments across the state; for the second consecutive 17 year, the Indians won both their home tournament, the H. D. Howard 18 Classic, and the Tenaha Holiday Hoops Tournament, in which they 19 bested 18 other teams for the title, and they also took the 20 21 championship of the Marlin Classic tournament in Port Aransas; and 22 WHEREAS, Lipan players were recognized with 23 individual honors at the district, regional, and state levels; the 24 list was highlighted by the Class 1A Player of the Year award that

H.R. No. 1221

- 1 was presented to senior Tate Phillips by the Texas Association of
- 2 Basketball Coaches, and he was joined on the TABC All-State Team by
- 3 juniors Ty Bryant, Santana Martinez, and Ty Phillips; and
- WHEREAS, Succeeding with a true team effort, the Indians also
- 5 received valuable contributions throughout the year from the other
- 6 members of the roster: Tyler Rice, Hayden Richardson, Eric Miller,
- 7 Layton Sharp, William Westerhaus, Carter McFadden, Derrick Cook,
- 8 Bryce Shockley, and Brayden Jones; the players were ably guided by
- 9 head coach Brent Gaylor and assistant coaches Tony Phillips and
- 10 Steve Bryant; and
- 11 WHEREAS, An inspiring team that played with great skill and
- 12 determination, the Lipan Indians have earned the admiration of
- 13 their fellow students and their many community supporters, and they
- 14 may indeed reflect with great pride on their accomplishments; now,
- 15 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby congratulate the Lipan High School boys'
- 18 basketball team on winning the 2017 UIL 1A state championship and
- 19 extend to everyone associated with the team sincere best wishes for
- 20 the future; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.

Lang

## H.R. No. 1221

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

|                                  | H.R. No. 1221                 |
|----------------------------------|-------------------------------|
|                                  |                               |
|                                  | Speaker of the House          |
| I certify that H.R. No. 1221 was | adopted by the House on April |
| 7, by a non-record vote.         |                               |
|                                  |                               |

Chief Clerk of the House

3, 2017, by a non-record vote.