By: Lang

H.R. No. 1221

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Lipan High School boys' basketball team closed 2 out the 2016-2017 season in triumphant fashion by claiming the 3 University Interscholastic League 1A state championship on March 11 4 at the Alamodome in San Antonio; and

5 WHEREAS, With a stout defense and an unstoppable offense, the Indians proved themselves tough competitors throughout regular 6 7 season play and clinched the District 18-1A title; in the playoffs, these talented athletes dispatched the squads from Zephyr, Iredell, 8 9 Yantis, and Graford High Schools with average margins of victory exceeding 37 points per game; this impressive run earned the team 10 11 the regional championship and punched its ticket to the state 12 tournament, where Lipan defeated Dime Box in the semifinals; that set the stage for the title game in which the Indians defeated Happy 13 14 High School 46-43, recording their 36th win of the year, the most in school history; and 15

16 WHEREAS, The Lipan basketball team also made an impressive 17 showing at tournaments across the state; for the second consecutive 18 year, the Indians won both their home tournament, the H. D. Howard 19 Classic, and the Tenaha Holiday Hoops Tournament, in which they 20 bested 18 other teams for the title, and they also took the 21 championship of the Marlin Classic tournament in Port Aransas; and

22 WHEREAS, Lipan players were recognized with numerous 23 individual honors at the district, regional, and state levels; the 24 list was highlighted by the Class 1A Player of the Year award that

1

was presented to senior Tate Phillips by the Texas Association of
Basketball Coaches, and he was joined on the TABC All-State Team by
juniors Ty Bryant, Santana Martinez, and Ty Phillips; and

H.R. No. 1221

WHEREAS, Succeeding with a true team effort, the Indians also received valuable contributions throughout the year from the other members of the roster: Tyler Rice, Hayden Richardson, Eric Miller, Layton Sharp, William Westerhaus, Carter McFadden, Derrick Cook, Bryce Shockley, and Brayden Jones; the players were ably guided by head coach Brent Gaylor and assistant coaches Tony Phillips and Steve Bryant; and

11 WHEREAS, An inspiring team that played with great skill and 12 determination, the Lipan Indians have earned the admiration of 13 their fellow students and their many community supporters, and they 14 may indeed reflect with great pride on their accomplishments; now, 15 therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 17 Legislature hereby congratulate the Lipan High School boys' 18 basketball team on winning the 2017 UIL 1A state championship and 19 extend to everyone associated with the team sincere best wishes for 20 the future; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 23 House of Representatives.

2