RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Port Aransas are gathering in
Austin on April 4, 2017, to celebrate Port Aransas Day at the State
Capitol; and

WHEREAS, In the early 1800s, Mustang Island was frequented by the famed buccaneer Jean Lafitte, and in 1855, an English sheep and cattle rancher named Robert A. Mercer built a cabin on the island; a community developed around the site, and the first post office was established in 1888 and called Ropesville; eight years later it was renamed Tarpon to highlight the island's fine fishing, and in 1911, the town was officially designated as Port Aransas; and

11 WHEREAS, Since World War II, the city has become one of the 12 most popular resort destinations on the Texas Gulf Coast, and the superb beaches draw campers, swimmers, and surfers from across the 13 14 Lone Star State; the town's launching ramps, lighted piers, and jetties enable anglers to catch a wide variety of fish, including 15 16 red snapper, shark, sand trout, tuna, and bonito, and the region's diverse range of sea life can also be appreciated at The University 17 of Texas Marine Science Institute; and 18

WHEREAS, Port Aransas is one of the top bird-watching locations in the country, and many areas afford fine opportunities to view local species such as herons and roseate spoonbills as well as the annual migrations of hummingbirds, flycatchers, and orioles; additionally, visitors may delight in the town's art galleries, shops, restaurants, and locations of historical interest; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Blessed with natural beauty and a colorful history, 2 Port Aransas is one of the Lone Star State's great treasures, and 3 its citizens may indeed take pride in their rich heritage and 4 ongoing achievements; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 6 Legislature hereby recognize April 4, 2017, as Port Aransas Day at 7 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 8 best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Hunter

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1224 was adopted by the House on April 4, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House