H.R. No. 1231

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Erwin J. De Luna has served with great distinction
as president of the Fiesta San Antonio Commission; and

3 WHEREAS, Elected president in May 2016, Mr. De Luna has given generously of his time and talents in behalf of Fiesta San Antonio 4 5 for more than a half century; he was a participant in the Battle of Flowers Parade in the 1960s, and he volunteered extensively for A 6 7 Night in Old San Antonio and St. Mary's Oyster Bake; he joined the commission in 1999 and has held a number of executive board 8 positions, including senior vice president and treasurer; in 9 addition, he chaired the Budget and Finance, Bylaws, Merchandise, 10 11 and Compliance Committees and served on many others; he is also a member of the Fiesta Flambeau Parade Association; and 12

13 WHEREAS, Mr. De Luna has served for two decades as president 14 of the United San Antonio Pow Wow, which raises awareness of Native American culture and organizes the Celebration of Traditions of Pow 15 16 Wow, an official Fiesta event; descended from the Navajo and Taos Pueblo tribes on his mother's side, he is a charter member of the 17 National Museum of the American Indian; he has served on numerous 18 community panels concerned with Native American issues and he has 19 20 participated in powwows across the Southwest; moreover, he is an 21 active member of the San Antonio Conservation Society and has been involved in many civic and charitable organizations; and 22

23 WHEREAS, On his father's side, Mr. De Luna is of Hispanic 24 descent, and with the 2017 King Antonio, Michael Casillas, and Rey

1

H.R. No. 1231 1 Feo, Fred Reyes, he forms the first majority Hispanic leadership 2 team in the history of Fiesta San Antonio; and

3 WHEREAS, Erwin De Luna has greatly benefited the Fiesta San 4 Antonio Commission through his skill, vision, and dedication, and 5 his long record of service to Fiesta has earned the lasting 6 admiration and appreciation of San Antonio residents; now, 7 therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 9 Legislature hereby honor Erwin J. De Luna for his contributions as 10 president of the Fiesta San Antonio Commission and extend to him 11 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for Mr. De Luna as an expression of high regard by the 14 Texas House of Representatives.

Bernal

2

H.R. No. 1231

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1231

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1231 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House