By: Dutton

H.R. No. 1232

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Olubukola Abubakar Saraki, president of the
Nigerian senate, is visiting Houston in May 2017; and

3 WHEREAS, Elected to his current office in 2015, "Bukola" 4 Saraki first joined his country's senate in 2011 as a 5 representative for the Kwara Central district, and he was reelected 6 four years later; he previously served as governor of Kwara State 7 from 2003 to 2011; and

WHEREAS, Senator Saraki is the son of Olusola Saraki, a 8 9 former senate leader, and Florence Morenike Saraki; born in 1962, Mr. Saraki attended King's College in Lagos and Cheltenham College 10 11 in Gloucestershire, England, before going on to complete his 12 medical degree at the London Hospital Medical College of the University of London; he was employed as a medical officer at Rush 13 14 Green Hospital in London and then returned to his native country and embarked on a new career, becoming director of Societe Generale 15 16 Bank; and

WHEREAS, Appointed as special assistant to Nigeria's president for budgetary matters in 2000, Senator Saraki initiated the Fiscal Responsibility Bill; he also served on the Economic Policy Coordination Committee and assumed responsibility for the formulation and implementation of several key economic policies for the country; and

WHEREAS, Senator Saraki is married to Omoba Toyin Saraki, and
they are the parents of four children; and

1

H.R. No. 1232

1 WHEREAS, Over the course of his legislative career, Bukola 2 Saraki has brought to his duties extensive experience and 3 formidable skills, and it is indeed fitting that he be honored for 4 his contributions to his country; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 6 Legislature hereby recognize Olubukola Abubakar Saraki for his 7 service as president of the Nigerian senate and extend to him 8 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for Senator Saraki as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

2