RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Port Aransas Independent School District has 2 enjoyed a significant record of success during the 2015-2016 and 3 2016-2017 school years; and

WHEREAS, Furthering the district's reputation for academic 4 5 excellence, Ancel Brundrett Middle School was recognized by the Texas Education Agency as a High-Performing School during the 6 2015-2016 academic year, while H. G. Olsen Elementary School was 7 designated as a High-Progress Federal Reward School; in addition, 8 9 two teams from Port Aransas High School qualified for the University Interscholastic League State Cross-Examination Debate 10 11 tournament, and two PAHS students were named 2016 Corpus Christi 12 Caller-Times/Citgo South Texas Distinguished Scholars; and

WHEREAS, Olsen Elementary students also proudly represented their district in the arts; in conjunction with the Port Aransas Community Theater, young performers took part in productions of *Elf The Musical Jr.* in 2016 and Disney's *The Lion King Jr.* in 2017, and an OES student was honored in 2016 with an invitation to join the National Children's Chorus; and

WHEREAS, Students from Port Aransas High have distinguished themselves through their recent athletic achievements as well; in 2016, the softball and boys' basketball teams clinched district championships, and members of the boys' and girls' cross-country teams qualified for the state meet for the second consecutive year; moreover, both the Marlins and Lady Marlins basketball teams were

1

1 regional semifinalists in 2017; and

WHEREAS, The faculty, staff, and administration of the Port 2 School District have 3 Aransas Independent demonstrated an exceptional commitment to helping young Texans build a strong 4 foundation for the future, and their efforts have been reflected in 5 the many significant achievements of the students in the district; 6 7 now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 9 Legislature hereby commend the Port Aransas Independent School 10 District on its numerous accomplishments during the 2015-2016 and 11 2016-2017 school years and extend to all those associated with the 12 district sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the district as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hunter

2

Oliverson

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1236 was adopted by the House on April 4, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House