H.R. No. 1256

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Osteopathic Medical
- 2 Association are visiting the State Capitol on April 20, 2017, for
- 3 Doctors of Osteopathic Medical Excellence (DOME) Day, and this
- 4 occasion offers a welcome opportunity to recognize the important
- 5 contributions that osteopathic physicians make to the health care
- 6 system in the Lone Star State; and
- WHEREAS, Trained to consider the health of the whole person,
- 8 DOs are fully licensed to prescribe medicine and to practice in all
- 9 medical specialties, including surgery; they pay particular
- 10 attention to how nerves, muscles, bones, and organs work together
- 11 to influence health, and through osteopathic manipulative
- 12 treatment, DOs use their hands to diagnose injury and illness and
- 13 stimulate the body's natural ability to heal itself; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Representing osteopathic physicians across the
- 15 state, the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association was founded in
- 16 1900 by a group of five physicians; the organization is dedicated to
- 17 advancing the philosophy and principles of osteopathic medicine and
- 18 serving the needs of doctors within the field; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Practitioners of osteopathic medicine play an
- 20 essential role in maintaining the health and well-being of
- 21 countless Texans, and these skilled professionals may indeed
- 22 reflect with pride on the exceptional care they provide to their
- 23 patients; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 1256

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize April 20, 2017, as Doctors of
- 2 Osteopathic Medical Excellence Day at the State Capitol; and, be it
- 3 further
- 4 RESOLVED, That April 16-22, 2017, be recognized as Texas
- 5 Osteopathic Medicine Week.

Sheffield

H.R. No. 1256

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

		H.R.	No.	1256
5	peaker	of the H	louse	
I certify that H.R. No. 1256 was adopt	ed by th	ne House	e on	April
20, 2017, by a non-record vote.				

Chief Clerk of the House