RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Susan G. Komen Greater Fort Worth is holding its
25th annual Race for the Cure on April 22, 2017; and

3 WHEREAS, A local affiliate of the Susan G. Komen Breast 4 Cancer Foundation, the world's largest breast cancer organization, 5 Komen Greater Fort Worth is dedicated to saving lives and ending 6 breast cancer by empowering patients and families, promoting 7 quality care for all, and accelerating the scientific effort to 8 find a cure; and

9 WHEREAS, The chapter was chartered in 1992 by Rozanne Rosenthal in honor of her friend, three-time breast cancer survivor 10 11 Joan Katz; since that time, both women have dedicated themselves to 12 supporting breast cancer research and awareness, and they have worked closely with the founder of the national Susan G. Komen 13 14 organization, Nancy Brinker, to advance this cause; through the years, Ms. Rosenthal and Ms. Katz have been recognized jointly and 15 individually with a host of accolades, including the first Unsung 16 Heroine Awards from Mitsubishi Motors in 1998 and Lifetime 17 Achievement Awards from Volunteer Now in 2015; and 18

WHEREAS, The first Race for the Cure in downtown Fort Worth drew more than 1,800 participants and raised a total of \$110,000; this year, more than 4,500 people, including 500 breast cancer survivors, are estimated to be registered for the race, which is projected to raise well over \$24 million; and

24 WHEREAS, Through events like the Race for the Cure, Komen

1

1 Greater Fort Worth has invested more than \$23 million in community 2 breast health programs in four counties, and it has helped 3 contribute to the over \$800 million that is invested globally in 4 research; and

5 WHEREAS, Fueled by passion, perseverance, and hope, the Race 6 for the Cure provides an opportunity for area Texans to make a 7 difference in the fight against breast cancer, and it is a pleasure 8 to join in recognizing the inspiring work of Rozanne Rosenthal, 9 Joan Katz, Nancy Brinker, and all those who share the vision of the 10 Susan G. Komen Foundation; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 12 Legislature hereby commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Susan G. 13 Komen Greater Fort Worth Race for the Cure and extend to all those 14 taking part in the race sincere best wishes for a meaningful and 15 memorable event; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for Susan G. Komen Greater Fort Worth as an expression of 18 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Goldman

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1313 was adopted by the House on April 19, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House