H.R. No. 1314

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, April 12, 2017, is being set aside as Autism
- 2 Awareness Day at the State Capitol as part of an ongoing effort to
- 3 raise public consciousness of an issue impacting the lives of
- 4 nearly half a million Texans; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Autism spectrum disorder and autism are general
- 6 terms for a group of complex disorders of brain development; they
- 7 are characterized by varying levels of difficulty in social
- 8 interaction, verbal and nonverbal communication, and repetitive
- 9 behaviors; and
- 10 WHEREAS, According to the United States Centers for Disease
- 11 Control and Prevention, 1 in every 68 children is affected by
- 12 autism, compared with 1 in 150 a decade ago; the Autism Society
- 13 calculates that more than 3.5 million Americans of all ages live
- 14 with an autism spectrum disorder; and
- 15 WHEREAS, The cause of this disorder is unknown, but
- 16 behavioral intervention can dramatically improve outcomes; early
- 17 diagnosis and intervention are crucial to ensure effective
- 18 treatment that can help these valuable members of society use their
- 19 skills and talents to reach their full potential; now, therefore,
- 20 be it

H.R. No. 1314

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize April 12, 2017, as Autism Awareness
- 3 Day at the State Capitol and encourage all Texans to learn more
- 4 about autism spectrum disorder.

Simmons

## H.R. No. 1314

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. NO. 1314
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1314 was	s adopted by the House on April
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House

12,