RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The Canton High School FFA Agricultural Issues Forum
 team enjoyed great success in 2016, advancing all the way to the
 semifinal round of the state contest, held December 2-3 at Sam
 Houston State University; and
 WHEREAS, Designed to showcase research and communication
- skills, the FFA Agricultural Issues Forum requires participants to analyze a current topic related to agriculture; teams then create a portfolio and present their findings to judges, who test their
- 9 knowledge with a series of questions based on their reports; and WHEREAS, Competing against more than 50 teams from schools 10 11 throughout the state, Anna Chambless, Cheyenne Mason, and Kevin 12 Pagel of Canton High School spent countless hours over a six-month period designing a presentation about genetically modified 13 14 organisms and their impact on wildlife, farmers, and soil; in addition to reaching the semifinals in the state competition, the 15 team placed third at the district level and first within their area; 16 they also delivered their presentation to a number of groups and 17 individuals, including leading scientists and engineers and Texas 18 Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller; and 19
- MHEREAS, Through their study of this important agricultural issue, these talented young Texans have demonstrated great initiative and ability, and they may indeed look forward to a future bright with promise; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 1346

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Anna Chambless, Cheyenne Mason,
- 2 and Kevin Pagel of Canton High School on advancing to the state
- 3 semifinals in the 2016 Texas FFA Agricultural Issues Forum and
- 4 extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Flynn

H.R. No. 1346

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

		H.R.	No.	1346
	Speaker of	the H	ouse	
	I certify that H.R. No. 1346 was adopted by the	House	on	April
25,	2017, by a non-record vote.			

Chief Clerk of the House