H.R. No. 1351

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For more than four decades, Dr. James W. Kennedy has
- 2 been a leader in the dental community in Houston and across the Lone
- 3 Star State; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Jim Kennedy graduated from the oral and
- 5 maxillofacial surgery program of the School of Dentistry at The
- 6 University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston in 1971; and
- 7 WHEREAS, For the next 35 years, Dr. Kennedy maintained a
- 8 successful private practice as an oral and maxillofacial surgeon in
- 9 Houston and Sugar Land; at various times, he served as president of
- 10 the Houston, Texas, and Southwestern Societies of Oral and
- 11 Maxillofacial Surgeons; and
- WHEREAS, After leaving private practice in 2006, Dr. Kennedy
- 13 joined the faculty of the School of Dentistry at UTHSC; in that
- 14 role, he served as chief of oral and maxillofacial surgery at Ben
- 15 Taub General Hospital, training residents and student dentists
- 16 there and at Memorial Hermann Hospital; he retired from the
- 17 department in 2011; and
- 18 WHEREAS, This dynamic and gifted medical professional also
- 19 helped to regulate the practice of dentistry across the state as a
- 20 member and presiding officer of the Texas State Board of Dental
- 21 Examiners; he retired from the board after 10 years' service in
- 22 2014; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Dr. Kennedy's commitment to the highest standards
- 24 of his profession has greatly benefited his patients and the dental

H.R. No. 1351

- 1 field in Texas, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a career
- 2 well spent; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commend Dr. James W. Kennedy for his long record
- 5 of service as a distinguished member of the dental profession and
- 6 extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Dr. Kennedy as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Zerwas

H.R. No. 1351

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1351
-	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1351 was	adopted by the House on April
12, 2017, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House