H.R. No. 1361

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For nearly four decades, the Texas Coalition of 2 Black Democrats has brought together individuals who share an 3 interest in advancing progressive values and addressing the 4 concerns of African Americans in the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, The vision for the coalition originated in January 1979, when a small group of residents from Arlington, Dallas, Fort 6 7 Worth, and Grand Prairie gathered to discuss the possibility of establishing a network among African Americans in the Metroplex; in 8 9 subsequent meetings that year, the group decided to call together grassroots leaders from across Texas, and the coalition's first 10 11 state conference was held in Austin from February 22 to 24, 1980; 12 the event drew more than 350 registered delegates and included workshops conducted by representatives from the Democratic 13 14 National Committee and several federal departments; and

WHEREAS, Today, the Texas Coalition of Black Democrats continues to play a prominent role in the African American community, stimulating interest in civic affairs and facilitating participation in the Democratic Party while also focusing on such issues as economic development and government response to public need; and

21 WHEREAS, In carrying out its mission, the coalition benefits 22 from the dedicated leadership of its current officers, chair Gene 23 Collins, vice chair for programs Shuronda Robinson, vice chair for 24 membership Almeda Dent, vice chair for finance Ernest McGowen Jr.,

1

1 recording secretary Courtney Bass, treasurer Winifred Jackson,
2 budget and finance committee chair Darwin McKee, and
3 parliamentarian Donald Williams; and

WHEREAS, Through their efforts to ensure that the voices of African Americans are heard at all levels of government, the members of the Texas Coalition of Black Democrats exemplify the ideals of American democracy, and their commitment to political engagement serves as an inspiring example for their fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 11 Legislature hereby recognize the Texas Coalition of Black Democrats 12 and extend to its members sincere best wishes for the future; and, 13 be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 16 Texas House of Representatives.

> Thierry Reynolds

H.R. No. 1361

2

H.R. No. 1361

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1361

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1361 was adopted by the House on April 10, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House