H.R. No. 1364

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Inspire, Encourage, Achieve of Beaumont is
- 2 celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2017; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Founded by Regina Rogers and the late Julie Rogers
- 4 in 1997, IEA is dedicated to aiding underprivileged youth who have
- 5 been involved in the juvenile justice system; it operates in
- 6 partnership with the Jefferson County Juvenile Probation
- 7 Department to reduce recidivism rates among juvenile offenders in
- 8 Southeast Texas; the organization serves more than 350 youths
- 9 annually through its programming in both Jefferson County's Minnie
- 10 Rogers Juvenile Justice Center and its own Ben's Kids outreach to
- 11 youth on probation; and
- 12 WHEREAS, IEA works to provide appropriate assistance to
- 13 children in the justice system, many of whom have suffered abuse and
- 14 neglect, endured the absence of a parent, or struggled with
- 15 learning disabilities; through cross-system collaborations, the
- 16 organization promotes character development, healthy lifestyle
- 17 choices, and improved relationships with family members,
- 18 caregivers, law enforcement, school officials, and other
- 19 individuals who can assist children in surmounting difficult
- 20 circumstances; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Among other services, IEA offers caregiver support,
- 22 mental health counseling, case management, mentoring, literacy
- 23 instruction, transportation, job training, tutoring, and a
- 24 six-week summer learning program; its therapeutic, comprehensive

H.R. No. 1364

- 1 response to crime and delinquency has resulted in a significant
- 2 reduction in recidivism during juvenile probation; and
- WHEREAS, For the past two decades, IEA has enabled vulnerable
- 4 young people to find better pathways in life, and by helping them
- 5 build a brighter future as happy, productive citizens, it has
- 6 strengthened communities across Southeast Texas; now, therefore,
- 7 be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby commemorate the 20th anniversary of Inspire,
- 10 Encourage, Achieve and extend to all those associated with the
- 11 organization sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 12 further
- 13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 14 prepared for IEA as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 15 of Representatives.

Phelan

H.R. No. 1364

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

| | H.R. NO. 1364 |
|---------------------------------|---------------------------------|
| | |
| | Speaker of the House |
| I certify that H.R. No. 1364 wa | s adopted by the House on April |
| 11, 2017, by a non-record vote. | |
| | |
| | Chief Clerk of the House |